Award Ceremony // Dance-Gala

The German Dance Award is the most prestigious prize for dance in Germany and has been awarded annually since 1983 as part of a festive dance gala. The focus is on the artistic work of choreographers and dancers. Nevertheless, personalities from the fields of education, journalism, science or other areas of dance creation can also be honored.

Save the Date

The next Dance Gala will take place on October 15, 2022 at the Aalto-Theater in Essen, Germany. We look forward to your visit!



Impressions of the German Dance Award Ceremony 2021

On Saturday, October 23, 2021, the German Dance Award 2021 was presented in a festive dance gala at the Aalto Theater in Essen - the highest award that dance in Germany has to bestow.

Heide-Marie Härtel of the German Dance Institute Bremen honored with the German Dance Award 2021 / Honors for Ursula Borrmann, Claire Cunnigham, and Adil Laraki.

The gala presented artistic contributions in line with the dance background of the award winners and offered the audience a varied and unique program. Highlights of the evening included Reinhild Hoffmann's "Solo mit Sofa", which the choreographer herself rehearsed with Ksenia Ovsyanick, First Solo Dancer of the Staatsballett Berlin, and the Folkwang Tanzstudio with excerpts from the energetic "Auftaucher" by choreographer Henrietta Horn, who was artistic director of the Folkwang Tanzstudio together with Pina Bausch from 1999 to 2008. With "Écoute ... Chopin!" (excerpts), Susanne Linke took the stage in person with a prelude by Chopin as a thank-you to prize winner Heide-Marie Härtel.
The Aalto Ballet performed "Many a Moon" by choreographer Armen Hakobyan, and the Stuttgart Ballet the Spiegel-Pas-de-deux from John Cranko's ONEGIN.
Choreographer and performer Claire Cunningham was unable to be on stage herself with one of her pieces due to a guest tour, so her art was celebrated with excerpts from recordings of "Thank You Very Much," "The Way You Look (at me) Tonight," and "Give Me A Reason to Live Evolution."
WDR presenter Siham El-Maimouni led through this impressive and special evening.

Moderatorin der Tanz-Gala 2021 Siham El-MaimouniPreisträgerin des Deutschen Tanzpreis 2021 Heide-Marie Härtel bei der PreisübergabeDie Geehrten Ursula Borrmann, Claire Cunningham und Adil Laraki (2021)Szenenfoto aus dem Beitrag "Many a Moon"Tänzerin Susanne LinkeSzenenfoto aus dem Programmbeitrag "Solo mit Sofa"Szenenfoto aus dem Programmbeitrag "Solo mit Sofa"Preisträgerin des Deutschen Tanzpreis 2021 Heide-Marie Härtel (mittig) beim Schlussapplaus


Onegin (Spiegel-Pas-de-deux), Choreography: John Cranko, Music: Piotr I. Tschaikovsky, Cast: Kacerova, Roman Novitzky (Stuttgarter Ballett)

Movie: Claire Cunninghams Kunst, excerpts from the productions "Thank You Very Much", "The Way You Look (at me) Tonight", "Give Me A Reason to Live Evolution"

Many a Moon, Choreography: Armen Hakobyan, Music: Ezio Bosso, Cast: Aalto Ballett Theater

Solo mit Sofa, Choreography: Reinhild Hoffmann, Music / Voice: John Cage, Empty Words (excerpts), Cast: Ksenia Ovsyanick (first principal dancer Staatsballett Berlin)

Écoute ... Chopin! (excerpts), Chroeography: Susanne Linke, Music: Frédérique Chopin, Prélude Nr. 24, Cast: Susanne Linke, A Prélude by Chopin as a thank you for Heide-Marie Härtel

Auftaucher (excerpts), Choreography: Henrietta Horn, Music: Fanfare pourpour, Fanfare Ciocarlia, Cast: 16 dancers, Folkwang dance studio and guests

(subject to change)